Scratchbuilding a Transfer Caboose, Part 1: the Body

I saw that another blogger was scratchbuilding a caboose, and I thought building a caboose would be fun. I decided to build a transfer caboose, similar to the one in the June 2010 model railroader(the online MR archives are open to everyone for a limited time, click here). I started with a caboose platform from an old Tyco caboose.

Step 1: Cutting the walls

I started by cutting out the templates from the June 2010 model railroader.

I next cut all the walls. Remember, Measure twice and cut once.

Step 2: Doors and Windows

I next cut the window and door openings to the Article specifications.

To cut the openings for the windows, I drilled holes as big as I could, then I cut the rest out with a small knife.

I next installed the windows and doors, using superglue for fast drying action.

Step 3: Assembling the body

Once all of the walls were done, I test fitted them together. After some sanding and filing, the wall were ready to be assembled. I used square stripwood as corner braces. Superglue was again used for fast drying.

Finally, I test fitted the body on the frame.

Part 2 will cover painting, frame detailing, and roof. -Harrison

Leave a comment