Simplifying the Layout Plan: Start Small?

I have to be honest: all this layout planning and the many things to consider have gotten me quite depressed and stressed. I decided to take a step back to a concept I established when I started planning a new layout; The concept of a sectional railroad. Not a universal “modular” layout, but a layout that can be built from start to finish in several different sections. Rather than plan the whole thing out right away (although I have most of the layout completely planned), I decided to start with one, manageable section, the Plattsburgh and GP Mill area. The plan is below, measuring 1.5 x 11 feet.

South of (below) this section the two tracks will become either the staging yard or another section of the layout. North (around the corner) will be the Plattsburgh yard. Does this plan look like a good start? Let me know below… -Harrison

6 thoughts on “Simplifying the Layout Plan: Start Small?

  1. I’m extremely familiar with the Georgia Pacific mill in Plattsburgh, as I lived in and worked as an EMT/Firefighter in Plattsburgh for awhile. I was always confused by the track plan of the plant and often wondered how they even managed to get any rail cars to service the plant at all. It all seemed wildly inefficient and curious to me. I’ve been reading your recent posts about modeling the layout and must admit that I’m impressed with your patience and dedication.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Harrison, my concern is still the backing up movement to get the mill and then only enough space to pull a car or two. Is there a reason why you are focused on the mill? Looking at Google Maps I see an opportunity south of Plattsburg where a wye track goes around a golf course and there are two industries at the end of the wye. No need for a backing move and plenty of space to work. Just my observation.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There will be more track north of the mill for the backing. The wye and industries south of Plattsburgh (where I actually railfanned today) did not exist in the 70’s, as that was part of the PAFB. Thanks for the feedback!

      Like

  3. I’m not familiar with the Plattsburgh GP mill, Harrison, but I’m also impressed with your patience and dedication, and with your skills. By all means, do what you can to avoid becoming overstressed or depressed. This is a hobby, and is supposed to be fu n. And in general, keeping on the sunny side of life or the sunny side of the street (alluding to old songs, one an old-timey classic and the other to an “American standard”, is often a very good idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Starting small always seems like a good idea🙂… I too have been very impressed with your patience, thoughtfulness, and attention to detail. I don’t know much about layouts but I can tell you are doing an outstanding job..also your tutorial videos are especially engaging, instructive and clever!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment